Various Artists - Wildflowers 2: The New York Loft Jazz Sessions

12" released in 1977 on Douglas

Added on Thursday, February 20, 2014

Condition: VG+

Color: Black

Price paid: $7.99

Genre: Jazz

Style: Free Jazz

  • A1 Flight To Sanity - The Need To Smile (10:47)
  • A2 Ken McIntyre - Naomi (6:00)
  • B1 Anthony Braxton - 73°-S Kelvin (6:30)
  • B2 Marion Brown - And Then They Danced (7:00)
  • B3 Wadada Leo Smith - Locomotif N°6 (6:00)

Recorded May 14 thru May 23, 1976 at Studio Rivbea, 24 Bond Street, New York, New York.

℗ © 1977 Casablanca Records & Filmworks, Inc.

1. Due to technical live recording problems, the beginning of "The Need To Smile" was not properly recorded. The producers felt the performance strong enough to include it with a logical beginning at the soprano saxophone solo.
2. "73°-S Kelvin" is an excerpt of a continuous performance.
3. "And Then They Danced" is presented here in its entirety. It fades rather than ends with applause because it was part of a continuous set where one composition followed into the next.

"T1" , "TH" and "CTH" etched in runouts denotes a Columbia, Terre Haute pressing variant.
Compare with this similar Pitman version [r12453192] which uses a different text layout on labels.

Discogs Link