Bill Orcutt - A History Of Every One

12" released in 2013 on Editions Mego

Added on Sunday, October 6, 2013

Condition: M

Color: Black

Price paid: $20.00

Genre: Blues


  • 1: Solidarity Forever
  • 2: When You Wish Upon A Star
  • 3: Black Betty
  • 4: Ten Thousand Men Of Harvard
  • 5: Spanish Is The Loving Tongue
  • 6: White Christmas
  • 7: Zip A Dee Doo Dah
  • 8: Black Snake Moan
  • 9: Ballad Of Davy Crockett
  • 10: Onward Christian Soldiers
  • 11: Bring Me My Shotgun
  • 12: Massa's In The Cold Cold Ground

A History of Every One by Bill Orcutt is an album of songs: minstrel songs, holiday songs, hymns, marches, cowboy songs, Disney songs, work songs, Delta blues. The original tunes themselves are nothing special, well known, but not particularly well-regarded. Most would be filler on a mid-'60s Doris Day or Burl Ives LP. What Orcutt does with them however is remarkable: expanding upon techniques developed on 2011's How the Thing Sings (EMEGO 128CD/LP) and incorporating ideas forged since his recording of "The Star Spangled Banner" during his 2012 tour, Orcutt interrogates the apparent banality of his material, subjecting it to discontinuity, disjuncture and a fractured repetition that is disturbing and revelatory. Titled after a line from Gertrude Stein's The Making of Americans and inspired by the scholarship of Elijah Wald and Eric Lott, A History of Every One is a bold re-writing of an important historical thread, an interpretation of a lost text and a bewildering extension upon Orcutt's already singular language.

Discogs Link